Contemporary Christian Fiction

Can’t Help Falling by Kara Isaac

canthelpfallingreview

I’m a Narnian at heart, therefore it was the synopsis of Kara Isaac’s sophomore novel which led me to take a chance on a new author. Can’t Help Falling starts out sweet and a little silly, a clever approach by the author to draw her readers in deeper–like wading into the ocean. Emelia and Peter’s awkward introductions wet my feet, with the hint of a secret I was in up to my knees, by the time Emelia’s plan of self-redemption is in motion I was treading water, and then whoosh… The story swept me away.

When Peter finds Emelia in an antique wardrobe he asks “Are you a Susan or a Lucy?” If you are familiar with the Narnia series, you know how Emelia wants to answer the question. However, Emelia is not a Christian and even cringes later in the story when Peter mentions church. She is worldly and Isaac writes an accurate description of the way many 20-somethings think, live, and behave. If the mention of make-up sex in a Christian novel turns you off then consider this fair warning, but I’d hate for sensitive readers to miss out on a really wonderful story about God’s sovereignty, His ability to reach the lost, and His calling on us to extend grace and forgiveness.

The manner in which this author describes a scene, her character development, as well as the C.S. Lewis/Narnia tie in were spot on! Furthermore, I don’t often buy romance novels because I can’t stand it when characters drone on and on about how physically attracted or how strong their longings are for one another (😝 pining). If you understand where I’m coming from, then trust me when I say this is good romance. I will definitely read another Kara Isaac novel.

Add Can’t Help Falling to your Goodreads list.
Follow the Author
Website | TwitterFacebook
3 thoughts on “Can’t Help Falling by Kara Isaac

  1. When I saw this pop up in my Google+ feed, I had to come over to find out what you thought of this one! 🙂 It’s been on my to-read list since I first heard about it, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet… but now I think I’ll be reading it very soon, Lord willing! 🙂 The C.S. Lewis/Narnian connection was what originally intrigued me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for visiting. The character’s love of Narnia is not just an element of the story, it is essential. I really liked how Kara brought everything together in the last quarter of the book. Definitely bump it up to the top of the stack.

      Amanda

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

