Historical Fiction

Book Review: Austen in Austin (Vol. 1)

AusteninAustinReview

January 15th, 2016 from WhiteFire Publishing

Add it to your Goodreads list.

If I Loved You Less by Gina Welborn, based on Emma
A prideful matchmaker examines her own heart when her protégé falls for the wrong suitor.

Refinements by Anita Mae Draper, based on Sense and Sensibility
A misguided academy graduate spends the summer falling in love . . . twice.

One Word from You by Susanne Dietze, based on Pride and Prejudice
A down-on-her-luck journalist finds the story of her dreams, but her prejudice may cost her true love . . . and her career.

Alarmingly Charming by Debra E. Marvin, based on Northanger Abbey
A timid gothic dime-novel enthusiast tries to solve the mystery of a haunted cemetery and, even more shocking, why two equally charming suitors compete for her attentions.

My Thoughts

Very rarely am I afforded the opportunity to read an entire novel in a day, but this past Friday I read Austen in Austin in it’s entirety in one sitting. This book released in January of this year, but before I could review it for you I felt like I needed to read all of the Jane Austen books on which these stories are loosely based. Having done so, I can say authors Welborn, Draper, Dietze, and Marvin pay proper homage to the original texts while making these stories their own.

Austen in Austin is one of the most well executed novellas I’ve read. Each story is set in Texas and together they span from 1882 to 1887. The social structure found in Austen’s novels correlates very well to the upper-crust society of the Texas Hill Country. All of the novellas are interrelated, so where one author leaves off another picks up months or years later, with a new lead character and a familiar cast. I enjoyed the continuity as well as the familiarity which this team of authors developed.

If I Loved You Less probably held the closest to Austen’s works. In contrast, Alarmingly Charming struck me as an improvement on the original (because truthfully, I did not enjoy reading Northanger Abbey). All in all, these stories are irresistibly sweet romances with subtle elements of faith.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

AusteninAustin1&2

Austen in Austin Vol. 2

Releases September 15th, 2016

Austen

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Austen in Austin (Vol. 1)

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a blessing to work so closely together with each other to get the details ‘just right’!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

