Quattro's Corner: Reviews From A Middle Schooler's POV

Faith & Freedom Trilogy by Douglas Bond | #MiddleGrade Fiction

Christian Shelf-Esteem shared it’s first review in May of 2014. In these few short years my children have observed me reading, writing reviews, and taking photos of books. I suppose it was only a matter of time before they would want to join the fun.

Today I’d like to share with you my son’s first book review(s) written under the pen name — Quattro. Ambitious, his first post is a review of Douglas Bond’s Faith & Freedom Trilogy. In 3 1/2 days he read all three books! Needless to say, he enjoyed the series and may be returning again very soon to the blog with another review. Thus I added Quattro’s Corner to my blog homepage.

FaithandFreedomReview

IMG_2387Guns of Thunder, the first book in the Faith and Freedom series, was awesome! Not only does it tell about war, it accurately tells about colonial history and how the weapons were used. It also includes a detailed description of how Christians lived in colonial times. This book is perfect for people my age because of the challenge and adventure included in the story. Halfway through the book, I got accustomed to the accent. Since there are no pictures, it allows people to freely imagine the story as it unfolded.

I like how Ian is generous and thinks about the people he fights and how he puts his family first. I also like how the Indian Watookoog developed from a stranger to a helpful friend and ally. He helps in the most difficult times and teaches Ian how to use weapons. The book is full of action because of the French and Indian war, which took place before the Revolutionary war (and, in a way, starting it because they had to pay for food, powder, and lead for them AND the British). This book is worth the time to read. My rating of this book is 5 out of 5!

 

IMG_2420Guns of the Lion, the second book in the Faith and Freedom series, was excellent! Gavin Crookshank, Ian McKethe’s cousin, is in a really, REALLY BIG WAR! I like how Gavin tries to do the right thing, follows the bible, and helps save lives while trying to figure out who’s side he really is on. My only two questions are how did he even get a letter out of the prison without the guards reading it (and what a letter it was!), and how he wasn’t hanged since he wasn’t actually conscripted? This book is seemingly longer than the first. My rating of this book is 4.5 out of 5.

“All around me was the noise of warfare…”

                                                                  -Gavin Crookshank

 

Guns of Providence, the third and last book in the Faith and Freedom series, was full of adventure! Sandy McKethe is a colonial that has been drafted into the Revolutionary War when he read about British ships stealing from towns. He is skilled with a bow like Ian McKethe and he thinks bows are better than guns. After Dorchester Heights, he fights the British in a ship. This story has a lot of action and fighting. It is really cool! I wish there was a fourth book in the Faith and Freedom series.  I rate this book 5 out of 5. Great job, Douglas Bond! I hope to read more of your books soon!  -Quattro 

“I received a complimentary copy of this book from P&R Publishing in exchange for my honest review.” 

QuattroSquare Quattro began reading before his 2nd birthday and reading remains his favorite pastime. This school year (2016-17) he will enter the 6th grade. He’d like to join his school newspaper and has even entertained the idea of working in publishing when he grows up.

The Faith & Freedom Trilogy is available from P&R Publishing

Add it to your Goodreads list.

Follow the Author

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Faith & Freedom Trilogy by Douglas Bond | #MiddleGrade Fiction

  1. Really great job on reading all these books and doing super reviews. When you find books you love it’s easy to tell others about them. Good luck Quattro!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great review, Douglas. 🙂 Your mama is training you well. This review makes me want to read these books and I’m an adult. Thank you for taking your time to write this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this review, Quattro! It makes me want to read the book. (Although, I’m just a teensy bit older than you are, I’m also a former teacher and books for younger readers are some of my favorites. Just wish I had the imagination to write them.) Keep up the good work and thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

