Historical Fiction

The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

LadyandtheLionheartAugust 1st, 2016 from Mason Jar Books

Add it to your Goodreads list.

Follow the Author

Website | TwitterFacebook  | Pinterest

Why this book…

Can you guess why I chose to read this book? I’m sure some of you are thinking I’ve been bitten by the cover-love bug again, but for a change, you would be mistaken. While I think the cover is goRgEous, it was the synopsis that first captured my imagination.

Then there was Joanne Bischof’s Pinterest storyboard for The Lady and the Lionheart. One that kept my daughter (8) and I busy for an afternoon scouring the internet in search of an outfit and hair braiding instructions so that she could dress up like Ella. Fangirling—it’s in her blood!

fangirlblog

My Thoughts

The Lady and the Lionheart is Joanne Bischof’s “book hangover inducing” new release. From the moment Charlie Lionheart strode into Ella’s hospital with little Holland in his arms my heart was on the line. These characters, their struggles, and the journey they take together is something I cannot shake from my thoughts even days after finishing the book.

I began reading with a few preconceived notions of how I thought a lion tamer would behave. Joanne shattered each one and in their place she’s created a humble man with an lion-sized heart. Evidence of his gentleness shines forth in his care for Holland as well as his cats (to which Bischof has assigned unique personalities). Furthermore, it can be seen in his willingness to break precedence by allowing a townie named Ella into his circus world.

The use of  bold and often fanciful imagery kept me spellbound. Completely immersing me in a world of sideshow oddities and Big Top excitement. Still, there was so much more to this tale given it’s faith-filled messages of sacrificial love and healing. Half way through this year Joanne Bischof takes center ring with a novel worthy of my Best of 2016 list!

5lions

Books that I review come from a number of sources to include: my local library, book stores, blogger programs, and authors. This was a title I won in a giveaway hosted by the author. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

If Charlie and Ella’s story sounds intriguing, you may also enjoy The Ringmaster’s Wife.

The circus setting of Joanne’s novel follows closely on the heels of Kristy Cambron’s (June 2016 release) The Ringmaster’s Wife. While both stories share a similar setting, I found Cambron’s tale to possess a more biographic feel. While Charlie and Ella’s story spans a period of several months in 1890, the bulk of Mable Ringling’s tale takes place in the Jazz Age. I highly recommend both books and their authors.

**Photo credit for the five lions drinking water goes to IndianTelevision.com**
4 thoughts on “The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

  1. Amanda – I can’t even tell you the joy I get from those 5 lion stars. What a delight!!! Thank you for being such a bright spot in the launch of this book. When I look back at it, I will remember you fondly from your kindness to Taylor’s darling drawing, to your sweet words here. I am so grateful to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

