Contemporary Christian Fiction

The Alliance by Jolina Petersheim

TheAllianceBookReview

Add it to your Goodreads list.

Follow the Author

Website | TwitterFacebook  | Pinterest

My Thoughts

Wildly unpredictable — The Alliance is unlike any other book I’ve ever read! Set in Northern Montana near Glacier National Park, in a community of Old Order Mennonites. These are salt of the earth folks who thrive on faith, farming, and food storage. When an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) brings Moses Hughes’ plane crashing into their midst, the people are not prepared for the warning he gives. According to Moses, cities will be thrown into chaos by the EMP and when food becomes scarce the “locust” will show up at their doorstep in force. The overarching question becomes how this group of pacifists will respond to such a threat. 

Leora and Moses provide the lens through which readers view the unfolding events. Like the majority of books I’ve read in this genre, these characters remain chaste. However, the physical attraction and romantic tension between these two smolders. Both are given extensive backstories, yet I never felt like I could anticipate their choices or the eventual outcome of the story. In the end, this unpredictability was one of my favorite elements of the book.

The Alliance is original, unpredictable, and compelling. I believe readers who do not gravitate to bonnet fiction will enjoy The Alliance. This is the second book I’ve read by Jolina Petershiem and, as with The Midwife, I feel she uses the Mennonite faith to provide the moral and social parameters of her stories without allowing it to steal the show. The characters remain real and their struggles relevant to today’s Christians. I recommend adding The Alliance to your summer reading list. 

I received this book from the author for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “The Alliance by Jolina Petersheim

Leave a Reply

