Contemporary Christian Fiction

Book Review & Giveaway: Always Watching by Lynette Eason

AlwaysWatching

Paperback | February 2nd 2016 | Revell

Add it to your Goodreads list.

Follow the Author

Synopsis

Intensity. Skill. Tenacity. 

The bodyguards of Elite Guardians Agency have it all.

When it becomes clear that popular psychiatrist and radio personality Wade Savage has a stalker, his father secretly hires Elite Guardians to protect his son. But when Wade’s bodyguard is attacked and nearly killed, agency owner Olivia Edwards must step in and fill the gap.

Olivia’s skills are about to be tested to the limit as Wade’s stalker moves from leaving innocent gifts at his door to threatening those closest to him–including Olivia. But in her mind, even more dangerous than the threats to her life is the hold her handsome client has on her heart.

My Thoughts

I’m on a suspense fiction kick and Lynette Eason just added fuel to the flame. My copy of Always Watching appeared in our mailbox on Friday. The timing was perfect because we were just leaving on a road trip. Now I’m not the fastest reader, so it’s saying a lot when I tell you that I’ve read this book in two days. I couldn’t put it down. It was fast-paced. Engaging. Entertaining.

Always Watching is the first book in a new series based on a team of specially trained female bodyguards. Investigative and surveillance skills, bomb detection, brains, and daring — this team of women has it all. With 10 years of military service myself, I applaud women who take on non-traditional roles and pull them off with professionalism and finesse.

If I’m right, each book in the Elite Guardian Series will focus on a different team member. Clearly this was Olivia’s story by design, but I would have enjoyed a little more interplay/camaraderie among the team members. On the flip side, the author’s intense focus on one character allowed for dynamic development both emotionally and spiritually. Perhaps as the series progresses, the team itself will be as compelling as each individual member.

As a new-to-me author Lynette Eason has earned a spot among my favorite suspense authors like Ronie Kendig, Lisa Harris, and Dani Pettrey. What sets these authors apart is their ability to keep a thread of tension throughout a story — something Eason has done impeccably well. Another aspect of her writing that reminds me of the other authors mentioned before is her ability to propel a storyline using character dialogue. The dialogue between her characters was fluid, varied, and natural. To top it all, this book is punctuated with numerous high-action/high-suspense scenes. 

I anticipate more great reads from the Elite Guardian Series and Lynette Eason. Without Warning (Book #2) releases in August and has already garnered a spot on my to-read list.

4.5Apples

 

I received this book from the publisher for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Giveaway

Enter to win a paperback copy of Always Watching (Elite Guardians, #1) by Lynette simply by commenting below and telling me which books from my 2016 TBR are also on your to-read list.

For additional entries:

  1. Follow me on twitter and retweet this tweet. (1 bonus entry)
  2. Subscribe to this blog via email. (Worth 2 bonus entries when you leave the email address you subscribed with in your comment.)

AlwaysWatchingGiveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Christian Shelf-Esteem and is open to residents of the United States and the District of Columbia who are 18 years of age or older at the time of entry. No PO Boxes. Ending 11:59 PM (CST) ON 2/14/2016. Winner will be selected using Random.org and notified by email on or shorty after the close of the giveaway. They will be given 72 hours (from the time the email is sent) to claim their prize. Otherwise, the prize will be forfeit and a new winner will be drawn. Book prizes will be mailed via USPS Media Mail. Christian Shelf-Esteem is not responsible for the replacement of lost or damaged prizes.
21 thoughts on “Book Review & Giveaway: Always Watching by Lynette Eason

  1. Always Watching, Cold Shot, The Cautious Maiden, and Warrior’s Seal & Conspiracy of Silence (Tox Files) are all definitely on my list!! 😀 (I’m about half-way through book #2 in Ronie’s Quiet Professionals series right now– very good! 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It would almost be easier for me to say what books on your TBR list are NOT on mine. Pretty much all of them are on my TBR as well. It looks like we have similar reading tastes, Amanda. I am sooo looking forward to reading Lynette’s latest. She is one of my favorite suspense authors. Thanks so much for the review and giveaway!

    Following along and tweeting – momrain(AT)aol(DOT)com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also have on my reading list – The NewsMakers, Always Watching, Cold Shot, Jilted, Missing, and Conspiracy of Silence. I love to read and would love to win. Lynette is one of my favorite’s. (mksmcpotter@msn.com)

    Like

  4. Cold Shot, The Ringmaster’s Wife and A Flight Of Arrows are high on my TBR list!

    I follow the blog via e-mail with the following address
    pattymh2000(at)yahoo(dot)com

    I also follow on Twitter

    Like

  5. The Ringmaster’s Wife, The Flight of Arrows, The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder, Miriam, Cold Shot and Always Watching are on my tbr list. I’m super excited for the Bacherlor Girl’s Guide to Murder. I’ve never really been into whodunnit mysteries, but this one sounds like a fun variation.

    I’m subscribed to your blog via email and have retweeted your twitter post. Thank you. tlhcoupon(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I follow you on Twitter, I retweeted your tweet, and I subscribe to your newsletter via email using mo1202007ATyahooDOTcom.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  7. ohmygoodness!! what on your TBR list is NOT on mine??? Always Watching, of course, The Prophetess, Miriam, Counted with the Stars, Flight of Arrows, Land of Silence, Delilah, The Ringmaster’s Wife, The Cautious Maiden—that’s most of them, right??? might have to check out the rest ’cause, you know, we have such similar taste!!!

    Like

    1. Robin,
      I clicked over to check out your blog and subscribed while I was there. Did you know Connilyn Cossette is looking for readers/reviewers to add to her Influencer Team for Counted with the Stars? If you are interested you can contact her through Facebook or her website.

      Like

  8. You’ve got a great list. These are the ones I’ll be for sure reading:
    The Newsmakers by Lis Wiehl
    Always Watching by Lynette Eason
    Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey
    A Flight of Arrows by Lori Benton
    Missing by Lisa Harris
    Conspiracy of Silence by Ronie Kendig
    I already follow you on Twitter. I did retweet. I do subscribe to your blog, but I don’t give out that email address publicly. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

