Children's Non-Fiction · Uncategorized

I Am: 40 Reason to Trust God by Diane Stortz

IAmReview

 

I Am 40 Reasons To Trust God by Diane Stortz

Hardcover | Coming February 2nd 2016 | Tommy Nelson

Why this book…

Each morning as I drive the children to school, we pray. Some mornings our needs and prayers of intercession dominate the short drive. Other days I say to the kids “Lift Him High” or “Let’s praise Him to the corner!” (which is the stop sign less than a mile down our road).

When I first began emphasizing the importance of praising God during our prayer time, I asked the children to name a blessing, an attribute, or character quality of God for every letter of the alphabet. The goal became to squeeze in the entire alphabet before we reached the front of the drop off line. We take turns on which child starts, which results in letters getting different words assigned to them each time (except Z which is often “thank You for creating zebras”).

Our kids have been raised in church so they speak common “church-ese.” That’s one reason it took me a while to pick up on what my daughter was saying for the letter A – “Lord, You are the Alpha and the Omega who stands on the highest mountain.” Alpha and the Omega  (Revelation 22:13) made sense to me and I attributed the mountain statement to Christ’s encounter with Satan in Matt 4:8 which reads, “Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor.” Such was not the case, because one morning when my daughter had exited the van my son said, “Mom, you know she’s talking about the cartoon when she says the Alpha and Omega who stands on the mountain, right?”

What?! Well, apparently there is a cartoon she has watched that is about two wolves named Alpha and Omega. Previously when she had heard me mention that God was the Alpha and the Omega, her 7 year old mind pictured this…

Alpha-and-Omega

Clearly, I needed a new approach. It’s one thing to have the children parrot the words they hear me speak in praise, something all together different to understand the words and know how they originated in scripture.  That’s how I Am: 40 Reasons to Trust God has come to my rescue.

 

My Thoughts

 “Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!” Psalm 103:1

For parents who are eager to expand their child(ren)’s understanding of God — His character and nature — I Am: 40 Reasons to Trust God serves as a wonderful launch pad. Over the course of 40 short stories, Diane Stortz helps kids make the connection between the names of God and how He embodies or fulfills each one. From Genesis (Elohim: Creator) to Revelation (King of Kings) the names of God are presented in context, with enthusiasm and reverence.

Visually, this book is stunning! Online shoppers will not fully appreciate the book until they hold it in their hands. Only then will they see how the turquoise foil lettering of “I AM” as well as the 3D iridescent glitter make the cover pop. As with Word’s to Dream On, also by the author illustrator duo of Stortz and Le Feyer, the stories are complemented by vibrant and dramatic illustrations. It would truly make a delightful gift or complement an Easter basket.

Stortz recounts 40 stories, each representing one of His names – combining biblical accounts and condensing scripture to deliver a storybook well suited for 4 to 8 year old children. I can think back to how my children handled books when they were younger, and appreciate the thicker, more tear resistant pages of this book. Even with children at the upper end of the recommended ages, who can read the bible for themselves, I believe this book to be valuable for gaining insight into where the names of God originate in scripture as well as there meanings. Additionally, the “What Does It Mean?” sections, which serve as devotionals, are appropriate for their level of maturity.

Studying the names of God is a great way to expand your child’s understanding of His character and nature. I Am: 40 Reasons to Trust God is just what I’ve been looking for —a catalyst to worship.

5Apples
**I received this book free as a member of the BookLookBloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

My daughter and I love to color together.

You can find these FREE printable coloring pages on the author’s website.

Follow the Author

 

 

One thought on “I Am: 40 Reason to Trust God by Diane Stortz

Leave a Reply

