Special Features

Me, Myself, and Pie Cookbook Review

MMPCover

Me, Myself, and Pie by Sherry Gore

Hardcover | October 7th 2014 | Zondervan

Filled with classic pie recipes such as apple and pecan, yet bolstered with modern pie innovations like pie pops, Thanksgiving Pie, and pies-in-a-jar, this is a collection of simple, straightforward recipes and stories of Amish life that will help bakers bring their families together around the table. Brimming with full-color photography of more than 100 recipes full of simple, wholesome ingredients and easy tried-and-true techniques that are sure to please any palate, this distinctive cookbook will help you bake the perfect Amish pie, whether you are a pie novice or a filled-pastry aficionado. Recipes include sweet and savory fillings, basic crusts, fruit pies, cream pies, meringues, scrumptious toppings, and so much more. Sprinkled throughout are Sherry Gore’s personal stories of Amish life and culture that are best enjoyed over—what else?—a slice of homemade pie!

My Thoughts

I confess to having been the queen of frozen pies before I picked up this cookbook. It wasn’t because I didn’t like to bake, I do. My apprehension hinged on creating the “perfect pie crust.” In my family, the measure of a good pie begins with the crust. Setting aside my fears, I tied my apron strings and set to work following Sherry Gore’s detailed instructions. Thanks to Me, Myself, and Pie,  I am no longer intimidated by crust making. In fact, I’ve become quite the Piecasso.

We eat with our eyes, right? Well, when you open Me, Myself, and Pie be prepared for a (zero calorie) visual feast. Each pie recipe is accompanied by a mouth watering photograph of culinary perfection. The narrative Sherry has written detailing her conversion from pie hater to pie aficionado, along with details of Amish life in Pinecraft, are replete with beautiful images.

As a mother, I want to make memories and experience new challenges with my children. At no other time is learning so fun or so delicious as when we are experimenting in the kitchen. Having gleaned the basics of pie making from the first two chapters, the kids and I set to work.

Need a confidence booster? Try the Apple Skillet Pie first.  We did and it was AMAZING!

SkilletPieCollage.jpeg

After this we chose a savory recipe — Barbecue Pulled Pork Hand Pies. The pork was a set-it-and-forget-it crock pot recipe, perfect for on the go families. Before we served them, all we had to do was shred the pork, add it to pie rounds, fold, and bake for 15 minutes. They were tasty, but here in the South we have preconceived notions of barbecue. In the end, we decided buns reign supreme for satisfying a true hankering for pork barbecue. However, we conceded that turning the remaining pork into hand pies would liven up leftover night.

IMG_9183

New York Style Cheesecake was next on my list. I refuse to tell you how many pieces I ate. That’s between me, God, and the treadmill. Ha!

(What I did learn from this little experiment is that my new Frigidaire range maxes out at 500 degrees. The recipe calls for a preheated over of 550 degrees. To counter this, I increased my bake time. Still, I probably removed my cheesecake a fraction too soon. I’ll know better next time.)

CheesecakeCollage

After consuming an undisclosed number of slices, it was time to bake for someone else. The kids made Pie Pops for their teachers, their bus driver, and my husband’s coworkers. The fact that the kids made the pops speaks to how clear and easy Sherry’s directions are.

These cutie-pies are perfect for gift giving: teacher, coach, ministry, nurse appreciation days, housewarming, thinking of you, baby showers, birthdays, Valentine’s Day, and of course National Pi Day!PiePopCollage

Lastly, I baked the Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Quiche for my women’s bible study fellowship luncheon. Amid the coos of “Oh, that smells delicious!” and “That’s beautiful. Who made that.” I smiled broadly and said, “I did, thank you.”

QuicheCollage.jpeg

I loved Sherry Gore’s Me, Myself, and Pie cookbook for it’s visual appeal, simplicity, and most of all it’s delicious recipes. Sweet or savory, it has something for every palate.

5Apples

MMP_PiePlate.jpeg

11 thoughts on “Me, Myself, and Pie Cookbook Review

Leave a Reply

