Uncategorized

Giada De Laurentiis Happy Cooking | Cookbook Review

Giada.jpeg

Happy Cooking

Make Every Meal Count… Without Stressing Out

Hardcover | Pam Krauss Books | Nov 03, 2015 | 320 Pages 

My Thoughts

Happy Cooking, Giada De Laurentiis’ eighth cookbook, is focused on clean eating and healthy choices. For anyone with food sensitivity issues (such as Celiac Disease) or those who may be striving to incorporate more vegetarian dishes into their meal plan – gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan recipes are clearly marked. Happy Cooking is infused with mouth watering photography, easy to follow instructions, and helpful tips for the home cook.

When this book arrived on our doorstep, my foodie husband’s eyes lit up. The overall layout and visual appeal of this cookbook are quite stunning. As we began looking through the recipes an appetizing photo would grab my attention, but I found myself having difficulty trying to conjure up what the dish would taste like because the ingredient list was so foreign to me. Pearled barley, tumeric, fennel bulb, chia powder, harissa, tahini, orecchiette pasta – these are all items I would have to ask my grocer to help me locate. On the other hand, when we sat down to eat Giada’s Sunday Pot Roast my husband said, “That’s exactly how I expected this to taste.” For this reason, I believe an experienced cook or someone with a sophisticated palate would draw the most enjoyment from Happy Cooking.

3.5Apples

I received this book for free as a member of the Blogging For Books reviewer program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Giada2.jpeg

GIADA DE LAURENTIIS is the Emmy Award-winning star of Food Network’s Everyday Italian, Giada at Home, and Giada in Paradise; a judge on Food Network Star; a contributing correspondent for NBC’s Today show; and the author of seven New York Times bestselling books. She attended the Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris and worked at Wolfgang Puck’s Spago restaurant before starting her own catering company, GDL Foods. Born in Rome, she grew up in Los Angeles, where she now lives with her daughter, Jade.

Leave a Reply

