Special Features · Uncategorized

30 Days In The Word – #BibleJournalingChallenge

See my follow up post: 

30 Days Later — #BibleJournalingChallenge #FCJournaling

You may also be interested in my (8/13/16) review of The Illustrator’s Notetaking Bible

30Days

30 Days In The Word
#BibleJournalingChallenge August 3rd-September 2nd

Getting into the Word, meditating on it, letting it permeate our souls – that’s what this is about. An outward sign of our inward reflection, transformation, and worship.

THE CHALLENGE:
For 1 month you will pledge to read the Word everyday (any book) and also to create one piece of #biblejournaling worship art each of the 4 weeks. Along the way we will share our art and what God has laid on our hearts.

SHARING:
I invite you to submit 1 photo of your scripture/worship art and a blurb (150 words or less) describing why you chose a particular portion of scripture. To be published in a blog post during September – following the challenge.
OR
Add your works and a description to the Pinterest board I’ve set up exclusively for the Challenge https://www.pinterest.com/Geaney/30-days-in-the-word-bible-journaling-challenge/
OR
Tweet them with the hashtag #huesoffaith #biblejournalingchallenge

What is bible journaling? This Pinterest board will give an idea ~ http://www.pinterest.com/Geaney/bible-journaling/

SUPPLIES

  • A journaling bible or a bible you are willing to mark in. I chose the ESV Single Column Journaling Bible (available at Family Christian).
  • #2 Pencil
  • Pens – many bible journaling blogs suggest micron pens.
  • Colored pencils or twistable crayons

MAKE IT A LOCAL GROUP CHALLENGE (optional)

I am Women’s Ministry minded and from the moment I first learned about bible art journaling it immediately struck me as something that could be done in fellowship with other believers. In addition to the online challenge, I will be hosting a group of women from my church to my house during the month of August. My vision for this event is simple – it will be a time of thanksgiving and praise. I am expecting the women to come with hearts that have been softened by their time in the scriptures. As they feel led, I would like them to share a journal entry and why the portion of scripture they selected to illustrate was so important to them. These will serve as mini-devotionals.

Of course, their will also be food (we are Southerners) and a time of prayer.

For my bible journaling party I will be providing the art supplies. I wouldn’t want to preclude anyone from an evening of worship due to financial constraints. Women are welcome to arrive with ideas or sketches that they want to color at the party.

IMG_7356
A local craft store has offered a number of coupons this summer for percentages off your entire purchase. I bought items based off of suggestions shared by other bible journaling “professionals.” -Watercolor pencils -Watercolor paints -Pastels -Stencils -tracing paper -washi tape
IMG_7357
While I am not an artist, I am a crafter. I was able to raid my craft closet for stamps, ink, a paper cutter, gel pens, scissors, and the like.
IMG_7358
CONFESSION: I’ve never scrapbooked in my life. Layouts, hand lettering, and doodling is uncharted territory. Therefore, a visit to my local library was in order. I **love** my library!

 

Friendship Day is August 2nd

A journaling bible would make a great gift and would be a fabulous way for friends to grow together in their faith.

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.”

Proverbs 27:17

FriendshipDayShare

See my follow up post: 

30 Days Later — #BibleJournalingChallenge #FCJournaling

3 thoughts on “30 Days In The Word – #BibleJournalingChallenge

  1. Reblogged this on Hawk's Happenings and commented:
    I’m looking for ways to get excited about Scripture again. Since I consider myself creative, I thought this was a cool idea. I also like the idea of doing this in a group, maybe even something similar to those find-raising paint nights.

    Like

Leave a Reply

