Contemporary Christian Fiction · Special Features

Justified by Varina Denman | Book Review

**I received this book for free as a member of the Family Christian bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

JustifiedGiveaway

Description

In a small Texas town ruled by gossip, Fawn Blaylock believes others are justified in condemning her untimely pregnancy. Stifled by guilt, she yearns for grace while the local football coach treats her with gentle respect.

Justified perfectly captures the rhythm and romance of life in a small town, telling the unforgettable story of a woman searching for renewal, a man looking beyond what others see, and a community torn between judgment and love. It is the unforgettable story of broken dreams, second chances, and relentless hope.

My Thoughts

Simply by reading the synopsis of Justified, I knew I would have a connection with Fawn Baylock because of the volunteer work I do at a crisis pregnancy center in my town. I have a soft spot in my heart for unwed mothers who go against the wishes of their parents, peers, or boyfriends and choose to be single parents. With this being the first book I’ve read by Varina Denman, I was surprised and blown away by her uncanny gift for conveying her character’s emotions and fears. In addition, the strife between Fawn and her parents, the tenuous relationship between Fawn and the baby’s father, and the scrutiny of the small town gossip chain felt authentic.

The plot of this story was very well developed and bolstered by strong, emotionally compelling, and sometimes comical (thanks to Ruthie, a favorite character of mine) dialogue between characters. While JohnScott and Fawn’s relationship shows promise early on, the path it takes is unpredictable and full of twists and turns.

A peek into Fawn’s past reveals her struggle to meet familial expectations, as well as maintain religious propriety, and class distinctions. With the news of her pregnancy, the illusion of perfection is shattered and it’s while trying to piece together and make sense out of the remaining shards of her life that Fawn has a remarkable encounter with grace. God uses her circumstance to both humble her and to bless her with unlikely and remarkable friendships. Justified holds many lessons for Christians in how we should extend forgiveness, love, and restoration to fellow believers. Justified has made my Best of 2015 list for Contemporary Christian Fiction because it was clearly writen to bring glory to God and to affect change within the hearts and minds of it’s audience. 5-stars

About the Author

Varina Denman writes stories about the unique struggles women face. She teaches creative writing and literature, volunteers in her local cooperative, and is a home educator to her five children. She resides with her family in North Texas. Connect with this author via her website, twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.

Giveaway (Closed)

*** Congratulations Teresa Moore ***

Christian Shelf-Esteem and Family Christian would like to bless one reader with a $25 Appreciation Certificate. Good online at FamilyChristian.com or in stores for the purchase of books, movies, bibles, DVD’s and more. LIMIT: ONE (1) ENTRY PER E-MAIL/IP ADDRESS. This giveaway is sponsored by Family Christian and is open to residents of the United States and the District of Columbia who are 18 years of age or older at the time of entry. No PO Boxes. Ending 11:59 PM (CST) ON 7/26/15.

Click the graphic below to enter.

25Giveaway

17 thoughts on “Justified by Varina Denman | Book Review

    1. Varina,
      Thank you for stopping by and saying hello. I truly enjoyed your writing and have done my best to spread the word through social media. I’ll be following you closely so that I don’t miss your next release.
      May God continue to bless you with creativity.
      To Him be the glory!
      Amanda

      Like

    1. I refrain from judging others when it comes to the size of their to-be-read (TBR) piles. For the past two years I have been donating all of the books I’ve read to my church library. This not only frees up shelf space it also prevents my TBR from falling over and crushing me. 🙂

      Thank you for entering.

      Like

  1. If I won the certificate, I’d probably get something for my daughter. Her 13th birthday is coming up and we are considering making this the year we get her a purity ring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful gift for her 13th birthday! I pray that she would receive the ring and it’s message with an open heart.
      We have two children, 7 & 10, and we are already praying for their sexual purity and that of their future spouses.
      Blessings and wisdom to you begin parenting a teenager. 🙂
      ~Amanda

      Like

Leave a Reply

