Christian Non-Fiction

You’ll Get Through This by Max Lucado | Book Review

 **I received this book for free as a member of the Family Christian bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 

  
Synopsis

You fear you won’t make it through. We all do. We fear that the depression will never lift, the yelling will never stop, the pain will never leave. In the pits, surrounded by steep walls and aching reminders, we wonder: Will this gray sky ever brighten? This load ever lighten? 

In You’ll Get Through This, pastor and New York Times best-selling author, Max Lucado offers sweet assurance: “Deliverance is to the Bible what jazz music is to Mardi Gras: bold, brassy, and everywhere.” Throughout readers will explore the story of Joseph and the truth of Genesis 50:20 – what Satan intends for evil, God redeems for good, evil.


Why I Chose this book…

Can you recall a hardship or difficult season that you have experienced in the past? Perhaps you are in the midst of one now. Your pain, depression, loss, divorce, physical ailment, loneliness, heartache or whatever trials you may be facing are no suprise to God. 

In this moment, I consider myself blessed to be enjoying a rather peaceful season in my life and I savor these days because I’ve climbed out of a few pits in my lifetime. I’ve lived through my parent’s divorce(s), family feuds, broken friendships, a few broken hearts, and loneliness as a result of military service (deployments – 1 of my own and 8 of my husband’s). Looking back, I can see how the struggles I faced after becoming a believer were much easier to endure than those of my youth. As His children we can draw comfort from the promises of scripture and our church family. 

These are a few verses that I’ve leaned on in the past:

“In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33
“Be strong and courageous. Do no be afraid or terrified…your God goes with you; He will not leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6
“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18
{Plus Jeremiah 29:11, James 1:2-4, and Genesis 50:20}

My Thoughts
In Max Lucado’s latest book You’ll Get Through This, Max uses the life of Joseph to illustrate God’s ability to see us through, or deliver us from the moments in our lives which bring us to our knees. By the way Max breaks down the events in Joseph’s life, he encompasses almost any hardship you have had, are in the midst of, or may encounter in the future. Every chapter spoke to me – either as a salve for my own wounds, or a potential first aid response for a friend in need. 

We live in a fallen world and occationally we need to be reminded that God does not cause our pain, however he is able shape it and use it for his plans and purposes. You’ll Get Through This does a fantastic job of reminding readers that God sees the big picture, and is able to provide strength for our challenges, rest for the weary, and peace for our troubled hearts. Furthermore, it emphasizes that whether or not God reveals His reasons for allowing these trials, we should recognize and take comfort in knowing that He is in control. He has the power, ability, and desire to take something initially painful and use it for something extremely good. “God is at work in each of us whether we know it or not, whether we want it or not.”

I’ve always enjoyed the way Max Lucado draws out life applications from the sacred text. With precision he summarizes entire chapters of Old Testament, extracting relevant points and then applying them to the topic – in this book it’s overcoming hardships. I feel like he goes out of his way to create a high level of understanding for his audience, whether we are veterans of the Word or new believers. Furthermore, he has a deft ability for immersing readers in a passage of scripture by capturing events as the people involved may have experienced them. Regardless of your spiritual maturity, you will not close this book without having new weapons with which to do spiritual battle (Ephesians 6:12). 

I would recommend this title for anyone in the midst of a physical, emotional, or spiritual hardship. As with Lucado’s previous title, Before Amen, this book offers Questions for Reflection at the back of the book which make it wonderful for a group setting (ie. Christian support groups, book clubs and small group bible studies).

4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

