Christian Non-Fiction

Ezekiel: Bowing Before Our Awesome God | Wiersbe Bible Study #BookReview

Wiersbe

Description

When the Isrealites lost respect for God’s majesty, God called the prophet Ezekiel to remind His people of His holy nature. Ezekiel’s message is just as relevant for us today as it was for the Jewish people thousands of years ago. This study of Ezekiel explores what it means to worship God as a holy Lord who is worthy of our reverence.

The Wiersbe Bible Study Series delivers practical, in-depth guides to selected books of the Bible. Featuring insights from Dr. Warren W. Wiersbe’s Be Reverent commentary, this eight-week study includes engaging questions and practical applications that will help you connect God’s Word with your life.

My Thoughts

For the purpose of this review I completed this study on my own. However, over the past year I have served on a five member Women’s Ministry team at my church and you can be sure that I had Women’s Ministry in mind as I completed the homework. Our team looked at a variety of attributes when we were selecting studies – what the women wanted/needed, spiritual maturity/bible knowledge, and the time commitment required of the study. With these factors in mind I will break down my impressions of Ezekiel: Bowing Before Our Awesome God.

The needs and wants of your study group: The messages of the prophet Ezekiel focus on God’s glory, the throne of God, and the honor of His name. The prophet was given messages from God for the Exiles in Babylon that few hearers believed or heeded. Time and again I noticed the similarities between the sins of the Israelites and the sins which are prevalent in our country. Ezekiel addresses idolatry, divine judgment, God’s goodness, the human tendency to lay blame, and more. More than once I was convicted of my own spiritual complacency. This study has applications for everyone!

Spiritual maturity/bible knowledge required for the study: I’m not a biblical scholar, yet I consider myself to have a moderate knowledge of the bible. Like the book of Daniel and Revelation, the book of Ezekiel is loaded with vivid language, symbolism, and allegories that have prevented me from really digging into it on my own. Weirsbe effectively unpacks the meaning behind the verses, explaining Old Testament laws and relevant Jewish customs where applicable. Where this study excels is in providing questions for deeper thought, self reflection, and life application. Completing this study in a group setting with several mature believers would benefit the group as a whole. I also believe a general knowledge of OT history would be helpful.

Time commitment required for the study: In order to squeeze the entire book of Ezekiel (48 chapters) into 8 weeks there is an ample workload of weekly bible passages. The good news for “homework haters” is that there is not a lot of copy work, and the questions are reflective. For example:

Why do you think…?

What difference does this make?

How is this similar…?

I tend to like concrete questions and answers which can be drawn directly from scripture, but these questions did get me thinking. Assuming everyone comes to class with their homework finished, these questions could easily be answered over the course of an hour. Be warned – these are great lead-in questions, and leaders may need to allow more time for talkative classes.

Sometimes as believers we fail to take a position of humility before our God. Wiersbe’s Bible Study will help you recapture a sincere reverence for the name and glory of the Lord. At the same time it will help you examine not only the original context and meaning of the verses, but also modern application. I give this Old Testament study of the book of Ezekiel 4/5 stars.

**I received this book free as a member of the Family Christian Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

