Historical Fiction

Where Treetops Glisten | Book Review & More

IMG_3883
Click the photo to be linked to the publishers website and full book description.

My Review

Where Treetops Glisten kindles warm feelings of nostalgia in the hearts of readers. Journey down memory lane to a time when pleasures were simple and courtship was virtuous. Linger in the warm feeling of patriotism, but be prepared to grieve over the ravages of war. The trio of Tricia Goyer, Cara Putman, and Sarah Sundin author this World War II romance in perfect harmony.

The Turner family hails from Lafayette, Indiana in the heart of the Midwest. Like most families of the early to mid-1940’s they are seeking “normal” as the nation fights it’s second Great War. Where Treetops Glisten takes a look into the lives of three Turner siblings: college student Abigail, big brother and  Army pilot Pete, and nurse Meredith. While their lives intertwine their struggles are different and each must learn to hear the voice of God. He calls them individually to face their fears, risk their hearts, to give, and to trust. In there own way each story is one of redemption and renewal.

I found two characters to be absolutely delightful! The first was Grandma (Louise Turner), she is tenderhearted, perceptive, and always delivering well-timed, sage advice. She reminded me a little of my own grandma with her rock solid faith. The other was sweet, rambunctious, and mischievous, little Linnie. Linnie is the catalyst to Pete and Grace’s relationship and for me a reminder of how my own children have taught me so much about God. This darling girl made me laugh (yes, out loud)! These two gals tie for the role of best supporting actress.

This holiday season snuggle up with Where Treetops Glisten. It will warm your heart and soul. I give it 5/5 tree-topping stars.

5-stars

I received this book free as a member of the Litfuse blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

A little something extra…

WTGCookie

Where Treetops Glisten resonated with me because it took me home. I was born and raised in Indiana. Our neighborhood was surrounded by fields and farms when I was a girl, which is much like the scenes described in the area surrounding Lafayette. It was also busting at the seems with children my age and my memories of playing in the snow are some of my fondest. I’ve lived in a number of states as I’ve grown older and I am convinced that Indiana snow makes the best snowballs! (Never one to back down from a challenge, I faced off with a few bullies like Pete Turner in my day.)

The first snowfall brought with it the anticipation of Christmas. I remember my mother and grandmother devoting an entire day each year to baking Christmas cookies. My siblings and I were allowed to help until we reached our sampling limit. Then they would shoo us out from underfoot. I’ve carried this tradition on with my own family. Our children never turn down the opportunity to help in the kitchen. Especially if that entails sampling freshly baked cookies.

At the end of Where Treetops Glisten the authors have included four Holiday Cookie Exchange Recipes. I promised my little girl that we would bake cookies when I finished the book. Both children joined in the fun and we prepared “Grandma Turner’s White Velvet Cutouts” and “Pete’s Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies.”

WTGCollage

When only the best ingredients will do – start with farm fresh eggs! Taylor did the honors of collecting the mornings eggs so that we could begin. Then my son, Joseph, read the directions while my Taylor and I carefully measured the ingredients. Look at the smile on his face as he rolls the peanut butter cookie dough in sugar. That boy is a peanut butter connoisseur (content to have a PB&J everyday for lunch)! It was no surprise when he declare Pete’s Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies “the best cookies ever!”

After we cleaned up the peanut butter cookie pans we moved on to the White Velvet Cookies. We had actually prepared the White Velvet Cookie dough first because it requires time to chill before being rolled and baked. We rotated between a baking stone and a traditional cookie sheet and I found that the stone made for a better finished product. The recipe warns you not to brown them so we cooked them at the upper end of the time suggested (oven temperatures will vary).

The verdict was split 50/50. Taylor liked the peppermint flavor of the White Velvet Cookies, but my peanut butter fanatic cast his vote for Pete’s Favorites. I liked both. The White Velvet Cookies have a smooth texture, not too dry, and the dough was easy to handle. If I made them again I would probably crush up candy canes to sprinkle on top for added color. I’d also like to try the recipe again using vanilla extract and perhaps decorate them with frosting. The peanut butter cookies reminded me of the recipe that my grandma used to make. Bringing those feelings of nostalgia bubbling to the surface again.

But wait, we went one step further by taking the cookies to our Lifegroup (Sunday school class) at church. Again the vote was split 50/50. Although one taste tester (she will remain nameless 😉 ) grabbed a styrofoam cup and made off with 5 White Velvet Cookies before I could escape. Where Treetops Glisten is a winning selection on all counts!

DSC_0035 3

Leave a comment

What is your favorite holiday cookie?

Share a favorite family tradition that you are carrying on with your own children.

Do you have an ornament or special decoration that you dare not part with regardless of it’s condition or appearance?

About the Authors

 

Tricia Goyer is the bestselling author of more that 45 books, including fictional tales delighting and entertaining readers and non-fiction titles offering encouragement and hope. She is a two-time Carol Award winner, as well as a Christy and ECPA Award Nominee. A popular blogger, Goyer contributes to a number of homeschooling and Christian parenting sites. She and her husband, John, live in Little Rock, AR, and are the parents of six.

 

Cara Putman, the award-winning author of 19 books, including Shadowed by Grace, graduated high school at 16, college at 20 and completed her law degree at 27. She is a lecturer on business and employment law to graduate students at Purdue University and also practices law. Putman is currently pursuing her Master’s in Business Administration at Krannert. She lives with her husband and four children in Indiana.

 

Sarah Sundin is the author of six historical novels, including In Perfect Time. Her novel On Distant Shores was a double finalist for the 2014 Golden Scroll Awards. Sarah lives in northern California with her husband and three children, works on-call as a hospital pharmacist, and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies.

5 thoughts on “Where Treetops Glisten | Book Review & More

  1. I am so delighted you enjoyed the book and tried the recipes! Such a fun way to interact with the book. Thank you! You’ve made my morning and have my itching to do some baking with my kiddos. Maybe tomorrow!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on CHERISHED WOMEN AT FIRST and commented:

    Today I would like to share with you a book review that I wrote and posted on my book review blog. I chose to read Where Treetops Glisten because it was written in part by Tricia Goyer, our guest speaker for The Cherished Table. As a share this with you, we have confirmed 108 guests for our ministry dinner. We (your ministry team) believe that all in attendance will be blessed by the message that God will bring to us through this gifted Christian author.

    Like

  3. Wonderful review, thank you for sharing! ♥ I love these authors, and was sorry to have to pass on this tour (timing, sadly). Especially now that I know about the recipes!! I reviewed a book a couple of years ago that had a delightful pound cake recipe in the back, and I loved it so much I make it all the time, and have actually become known around here for my version. #lol It’s such a lovely surprise to fall in love with characters, and then discover that you can “live” with them a little bit at the end!

    Like

Leave a Reply

