Children's Non-Fiction

Love Letters from God | Glenys Nellist

 

Author Glenys Nellist ISBN: 9780310733843 Publisher: Zonderkidz
Author Glenys Nellist
ISBN: 9780310733843
Publisher: Zonderkidz

Publishers Description

What child does not love to receive mail? What if that child could receive, open and read his or her own personal mail from God? The Love Letters from God will invite them to do just that! Accompanying each story in this unique children’s Bible is a very special and encouraging letter, each tucked away in its own lift-the-flap envelope, just for them. Written for children ages four to eight, the Love Letters from God includes eighteen of the most popular Bible stories—nine from the Old Testament and nine from the New Testament. Following each story the child will find his or her own letter from God. Children will love the excitement of opening the letters and parents will love how each letter elaborates on the Bible story being told. A very special Bible verse, entitled God’s Wonderful Words To You will accompany each story and letter. Much more than a mere memory verse, each carefully chosen promise will be God’s very own personal words of love, encouragement, and hope. This book will culminate in an invitation for the children to write their own RSVP to God.

My Review

Love Letters from God is the newest bible storybook from Zonderkidz and author Glenys Nellist Illustrated by Sophie Allsopp, this 38 page storybook has a delightful scrapbook and felt story board look. The vibrant, eye-catching illustrations are the highlight of this text. Readers may also enjoy the interactive lift-the-flap “Love Letters From God.” Using an approach made popular by Sarah Young’s Jesus Calling devotional, Nellist personalizes the promises of God for children. Here are a few messages that I enjoyed from this storybook to my children:

“Even though they had disobeyed God, He never stopped loving them.”

“…if you say you’re sorry and trust me, the most wonderful thing will happen – I will not remember your sins!”

“…try to remember that you are never alone. I promise I will never, ever leave you.”

“…I sent my Son Jesus…So He could show you what a precious and wonderful love I have for you.”

“When you are afraid, remember – Jesus will be holding your hand.”

There are many children’s bible story books on the market and I tend to be overly scrupulous. This being said, I want to make note of a few issues that I had with this book. The first was in the story of Noah where Nellist writes “…a flood would cover the earth and clean it.” This may seem trivial, but I want my children to know that the flood was meant to cleanse the earth of sinful people. It was God’s judgement on the wickedness of man.  The second hang-up that I had was with the feeding of 5,000 taken from John 6. In this storybook the young boy with the loaves and fish is named Nathan. I searched through a few different translations and found him referred to as: a young boy (NLT, NIV), a boy (HCSB, ESV), a lad (KJV, ASB), but did not find any mention of him by name. Furthermore, In the story of Daniel in the Lion’s Den the author has written, “Those lions closed their big mouths, closed their big eyes, and fell into a deep, deep sleep,” but scripture quotes Daniel as saying “My God sent his angel and shut the lions’ mouths, and they have not harmed me, because I was found blameless before him…” (Daniel 6:22) Which is more amazing? My final qualm with the text comes in the story of David and Goliath – perhaps because this is my daughter’s favorite. When comparing David and Goliath the author writes, “David ate porridge for breakfast; Goliath ate squirrels.” Huh?

As beautiful as the illustrations were and as much as I enjoyed the personalized “Love Letters from God,” the cons outweighed the pros for this reviewer-mom and I give Love Letters from God three stars. 

3-star

I received this book free as a member of the BookLookBloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About the Author

Glenys Nellist was born and raised in a little village in northern England.   Her stories and poems have been published in children’s magazines where her writing reflects a deep passion for bringing the Bible to life for young children. Glenys lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan, with her husband, David.

About the Illustrator

Sophie Allsopp grew up in Hong Kong where she particularly enjoyed living in a hotel and going to school on a tram. After studying for her illustration degree in Bath, Sophie won several awards, including a travel bursary from the Royal Society of Art and was awarded a grant from the Prince of Wales Trust to set up her illustration business. Sophie has been illustrating for almost twenty years for a wide range of clients, based all over the world.

Leave a Reply

