Christian Non-Fiction

The Wonder Within You by Carey Wickersham

I was on my lunch break at the hospital where I worked in Anchorage, Alaska when I heard the doctor say “You’re pregnant!” When those words were spoken aloud they became to me the single most exhilarating and terrifying two words in the English language. When I returned to my desk my supervisor sent me home to share the news with my husband, Jay. When I arrived home to my surprise he was already home.

“I have something to tell you,” I said.

“I have something to tell you too,” he replied.

“You go first,” I said wanting to save my good news for last.

“I’m deploying in 12 hours.”

{Shock!} “W-what? Where? Why?” – I responded as my eyes began to tear up.

Jay answered my questions and then asked, “What were you going to tell me?”

“I’m pregnant.”

Despite the news of an impending deployment, nothing could steal the joy of that moment. We were going to be parents!! Our lives were about to change in the most astounding ways. A dream was coming true, plans began to be made, and the counting of milestones began.

As a mother-to-be I wanted to know what to expect in the months to come. How big would the baby this week? What new abilities was he/she developing? Furthermore, I had a deep desire to make nutrition and lifestyle changes that would aid in my baby’s healthy development. I kept a journal, checked out books from the library, and subscribed to parenting magazines. All the information I sought from different resources is now available in one book – The Wonder Within You.

51418

Publishers Description

The Wonder Within You takes you on a journey that weaves scientific studies, dozens of interviews with mothers, and storytelling into a fascinating account of life inside the womb. An obstetrician loads each chapter with advice. A sonographer gives incredible 3 and 4-D snapshots (available online) and stories from her 25 years of watching babies grow in utero. Each chapter includes week-by-week developmental information, findings from recent neonatal studies, and even nutritional advice all designed to nurture a healthy baby. The Wonder Within You also serves as a weekly journal for expectant mothers to chronicle her own baby’s journey to life outside the womb. It’s a keepsake baby book that begins before birth.

The Wonder Within You will help moms meet the real needs of the growing pre-born baby. Sonograms, dietary and medical advice, and stories from experienced moms are combined to encourage 40 weeks of prenatal parenting designed with a joy for the journey in mind.

My Review

Through the use of technology The Wonder Within You takes an astounding look into womb – opening a window into creation. Author Carey Wickersham shares the many marvelous details of a baby’s life from conception to birth. Drawing upon her craft as a journalist Carey has collected and preserved intimate encounters such as “Mommy Moments” and “Prenatal Postcard’s” from women who have walked the road to motherhood before us. With the inclusion of detailed developmental milestones, medical and nutritional maternity advice, and a place to journal the thoughts of her heart – The Wonder Within You is the ultimate pregnancy resource and keepsake!!

Having two little blessings of my own I can appreciate the wealth of knowledge that this book has to offer. Should I become pregnant a third time I would use this book, especially the videos that are accessible via the QR codes, to share the mystery of life with my children. This makes the book a valuable tool for new moms and veteran mothers alike.

The team of Carey Wickersham, Focus on the Family, and Tyndale House have produced a text that both acknowledges and edifies our Creator God. The science is there and so is He, the Author of Life. Buy this book for yourself or a mom-to-be because of the information and solid advice it provides, as well as the encouragement, laughs, and awe it will inspire. Celebrate LIFE with The Wonder Within You.

5-stars

Amanda’s Favorites

Of all of the Prenatal Postcard's this one hit close to home. My mom was a teenage mother and I now volunteer at a Crisis Pregnancy Center encouraging young women to choose life. I am donating this copy of "The Wonder Within You" to my center. I wish that I could give one to every mommy-to-be that walks through our doors.
Of all of the Prenatal Postcard’s the one entitled “The Unexpected Gift” by Anne Reade was my favorite. My mom was a teenage mother and I now volunteer at a Crisis Pregnancy Center encouraging young women to choose life. I am donating this copy of “The Wonder Within You” to my center. I wish that I could give one to every mommy-to-be that walks through our doors.
Favorite Featured Quote
Favorite Featured Quote
This sonogram video from week twenty-three made me laugh out loud! You'll have to get the book to find out why. :)
This sonogram video from week twenty-three made me laugh out loud! You’ll have to get the book to find out why. 🙂

An Astounding Look Inside the Womb

Images from The Wonder Within You

by Carrie Wickersham

11 Weeks

28 Weeks

32 Weeks #1

32 Weeks #2

32 Weeks #3

**I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blog Network http://tyndaleblognetwork.com/ book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

