Historical Fiction

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

Somedays the World Wide Web is extra sticky! It’s on those days that I sit down to check my email or skim Facebook when the web sucks me in. One minute I’m rapping away on the keyboard and the next I find that I have whittled away an hour of my day. It was on such a day when I came across the blog of author Kristy Cambron. I’m pretty sure that I found it though a Facebook share but that’s not the point. The point is that I stumbled upon a NEW AUTHOR.  When I read her most recent post I learned that her debut novel would be published in a few months. New author, WWII historical fiction, gorgeous cover – I clicked over to amazon and added her title to my wish list. In the months between discovering Kristy and the release of her book I started following her on social media. Before I even held her book in my hands, I knew that I liked her as a person. She’s a gifted writer (check out her blog). She’s relatable. She’s quirky (In and interview she mentioned that she wrote a lot of this book using her iPhone!). She’s a Hoosier (Go Colts!).

I am pleased to share my review of The Butterfly and the Violin with you today.

51aU2aUYISL

From the Cover:

Manhattan art dealer Sera James watched her world crumble at the altar two years ago, and her heart is still fragile. Her desire for distraction reignites a passion for a mysterious portrait she first saw as a young girl—a painting of a young violinist with piercing blue eyes. In her search for the painting, Sera crosses paths with William Hanover, the grandson of a wealthy California real estate mogul, who may be the key to uncovering the hidden masterpiece. Together, Sera and William slowly unravel the story behind the painting’s subject: Austrian violinist Adele Von Bron.

A darling of the Austrian aristocracy, talented violinist, and daughter to a high-ranking member of the Third Reich, Adele risks everything when she begins smuggling Jews out of Vienna. In a heartbeat, her life of prosperity and privilege dissolves into a world of starvation and barbed wire. As Sera untangles the secrets behind the painting, she finds beauty in the most unlikely of places: in the grim camps of Auschwitz and in the inner recesses of her own troubled heart.

My Review:

Kristy Cambron’s debut novel The Butterfly and the Violin is one of the best reads of 2014! She does a remarkable job of pulling her audience into the romance and mystery surrounding a missing work of art from the Holocaust. This is a moving tale packed with second chances and faith born from heartache.

The historical elements of the novel are captivating. This story reaches as far back as 1930 with content relating to the Nuremberg Laws. Author Kristy Cambron uses the motherly Jewish character of Omara to detail the conditions inside Auschwitz-Birkenau from its inception until Adele’s arrival on March 12, 1943. Cambron also chronicles major events in WWII Austria as well as the fall of the Nazi regime in 1945. This work honors the memory of the artists who risked certain death to create beauty amid the ashes.

The modern day storyline including Sera James and William Hanover is emotionally stirring. Sera’s story involves her attempts to fill a void that has been left by the men in her life. A woman with “trust issues” would be the best way to describe her. William is a man torn between expectations that have been placed on him by others and his desire to follow a higher calling. When these two individuals collide the sparks fly.

There is no mistaking that this title belongs in the genre of Christian fiction. The characters within the story clearly acknowledge God at every turn. They pray, seek His guidance, experience despair when He feels out of reach, and worship Him with wild abandon. William, Sera, and Adel all grapple with betrayal and loss in some form. How they choose to bring their secrets into the light of a powerful God is what sets this story and these characters apart from others.  As they decide to trust and rely on God – He uses their circumstance to refine their faith and draw them closer to Himself and each other.

Kristy Cambron bursts onto the Christian fiction stage with a stellar performance. I give The Butterfly and the Violin 5 out of 5 stars.

5-stars

I received this book free from the publisher through the Booklook Bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About the Author:

389257_135474529889866_2012174589_n

Kristy’s been fascinated with the WWII Era since hearing her grandfather’s stories of his experiences as a B-17 co-pilot in the war. She writes WWII and Regency Era historical Christian fiction titles. THE BUTTERFLY AND THE VIOLIN, Book One in the ‘A Hidden Masterpiece’ series on the prisoner camp art of Auschwitz, released from Thomas Nelson Publishers on July 8, 2014. Book Two, A SPARROW IN TEREZIN will release in April, 2015.

She’s a proud Hoosier, living in Indiana with her husband and three football-loving sons, where she can probably be bribed with a coconut mocha latte and a good Christian fiction read.

Kristy enjoys connecting with her readers through social media – stop by Twitter  and Facebook to say Hello!

4 thoughts on “The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

  1. The cover is what first appealed to me with this book- it is quite stunning, but it pales in compared to the story told in between the cover. I loved this book, and was nearly speechless after reading it. I’m excited that it is going to be part of a series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

