Christian Non-Fiction

Radically Red: Dare to Live the Words of Christ by Brooke Keith

Do you have a life verse? Simply put- a life verse is a verse or passage that you choose to be your favorite verse. Often times they are verses that provide comfort, remind us of God’s mercy, or convict us in some way.
I had been a Christian for a number of years before someone in my bible study class asked me if I had one. At the time I didn’t and that put me in a frenzy to find one of my own. There were a multitude of verses which I liked, but not that “one verse” that really spoke to me.
Within the year a verse found me. Has this happen to you before? A verse leaps off the page at you during quiet time, it’s casually repeated by a friend, quoted in a bible study, and then spoken in Sunday service. My verse stalked me…I saw it everywhere. Similar to when I was younger and my brother and I would play “slug bug”. After a while we began to see Volkswagen Beetles everywhere. That was this verse for me.

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. James 1:22 ESV

 

I have made it my own and I’m striving towards the obedience that it demands. I’m no longer content to sit in church and get spiritually fat. I’m taking what I have learned and trying to walk it out in faith. It’s this desire that led me to read Radically Red: Dare to Live the Words of Christ by Brooke Keith.

71P+2ZuRB0L

My Review:

Brooke Keith draws upon the words of Christ written in bold New Testament red ink to lavish encouragement and hope on her readers. In this 40 day devotional, Brooke Keith combines beautiful imagery with sweet, intimate personal stories. There is an honest and vulnerable quality about the author that adds credibility to the spiritual insights that she shares.

Radically Red reminds us that the words of Christ weren’t meant to be casually skimmed over… They demand action. If you strive to be a “doer” of the word, then this is the book for you. The author includes a “Daily Dare” which challenge the reader to recognize Christ’s activity in their lives, to give encourage to others, create visual reminders of the day’s lesson, and to quietly reflect and pray about what they have learned.

Both convicting and inspiring at the same time Radically Red was a pleasure to read. I’ve made numerous highlights in my own copy of insights I would like to share with others. Whether you are in the valley or enjoying a time of peace and closeness with God you will glean something from this book. I encourage you to buy it and then pass it on. This book is for everyone.

5-stars
Radically Red: Dare to Live the Words of Christ by Brooke Keith releases July 1st from Warner Press. I received this title free from the publisher through the NetGalley review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

RadicallyRed1

About the Author:

Brooke Keith is the author of many books for children and a long time writer for CBN, The Salvation Army, Zondervan, Mature Living and other well-loved ministries around the world. Her other books published by Warner Press include the children’s book Chrissie’s Shell and the devotional books Notes from God and Forever His, She is the wife to one extraordinary man and a mom to their five equally extraordinary kids. But most of all, Brooke is a girl head over heels for her Savior and finds His love far too wonderful to keep to herself. Brooke blogs at laurabrookekeith.wordpress.com.

 

“Our lives are defined by the response we make to our problems and the way we see ourselves – hopeless and defeated, or hopeful and victorious in God.” ~Brooke Keith #RadicallyRed

Leave a Reply

