Christian Non-Fiction

How to Begin the Christian Life by George Sweeting

I was raised in church, but I truly surrendered my life to Christ in February of 2003. So why would someone who has been a Christian for 11 years choose to read a book titled How to Begin the Christian Life? When I was a military medic we were required to know CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation). It was not enough to take the initial course we were required to periodically take refresher classes to keep our knowledge and skills sharp. To begin with, I felt like I might need a refresher course – a little brush up on Christianity 101. It’s not that I don’t read my bible, I do, it’s that I wanted to remember anew the questions that I had as a new believer. This desire stemmed from a recent discussion I had with my fellow Women’s Ministry Team leaders about offering discipleship classes to new believers. I’m also coming into contact with a large number of unbelievers through another ministry that I volunteer with. This book had the potential to be a resource I could offer to help them beginning their walk. Finally, I’m head on a mission trip in November, my first, and I was looking for inspiration for topical studies.

Image

Synopsis:

Beginnings are crucial! Houses need strong foundations. Races are won by strong starts just as much as fast finishes. The beginning of your Christian life is no different. A strong start to your Christian life is not only pleasing to our Lord, but will help equip you for what lies ahead. The future will be exciting, yet challenging. Will you be ready? How to Begin the Christian Life is a modern classic. With more than 600,000 copies in print it has already helped tens of thousands begin their Christian lives. Now let it help you or someone you know. Are you unsure if you’re a Christian? Do you want to know how to pray, study the Bible, or handle trouble? Are you interested in God’s principles for giving financially to the church? This little handbook will give you reliable scriptural guidance in these and other areas of Christian living.

My Review:

For 35+ years people have read and trusted the teachings of George Sweeting in How to Begin the Christian Life and for good reason. For such a small book (5X7”, 202 pages) it really packs a punch! Sweeting covers 12 crucial steps of faith and spiritual growth in a concise and well planned format. The verbiage is simple – not too scholarly or tiresome to read. Additionally, the ideas presented are supported with a plethora of scripture as well as quotes and insights from other trusted Christian teachers (Dwight Moody, John Wesley, Martin Luther, A. W. Tozer, and R. C. Sproul to name a few).

Although I read through large portions at a time, a new believer would do well to tackle each section independently. The reader will find that the topics are broken down into bite sized pieces. Sweeting thoughtfully provides review questions and points to remember which make this book a great option for small group study.

I highly recommend adding How to Begin the Christian Life to your personal library. It’s a great tool for evangelism and an excellent gift idea for new believers (and veterans looking to brush up on foundational truths). It will be a permanent addition to my bookshelf and earns 5 stars from me!

I received this book free from the publisher through the MP Newsroom blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About the Author:

Image

DR. GEORGE SWEETING is a former president and chancellor of the Moody Bible Institute He received a diploma from Moody Bible Institute, his B.A. from Gordon College, and his Doctor of Divinity from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. Dr. Sweeting has served as a pastor in several churches, including Grace Church, Madison Avenue Baptist Church, and The Moody Church and also spent nine years traveling the world as an evangelist.

Leave a Reply

